Fae at 10 Months, Primitive Cultures, and Family Showers

Today my little wildling is 10 months old, and wow is she turning into a crazy little girl. She’s always had so much energy and determination, and lately she’s been developing the most ridiculous sence of humor. Her very new thing while sitting–be it on the bed, the floor, or in her newly beloved tub–is kicking her legs intensely, along the surface, whilst smirking crazily. It’s almost un-real. I’ve never seen this expression–on anyone.

Other Fae characteristics include:

Waving at people. She’s very particular to who, and seems to choose sweet looking girls, nice old men, and family. But she will tighten up her body and yell with her mouth closed when someone isn’t polite enough to notice her when she wants to wave. She saves yelling with her mouth open for Mummy and Daddy.

She loves to dance, or will, and begins bouncing around to any music, anywhere.

And singing. She tries to sing along to The Muppets, the old shows, not the politically correct movie, and also when Daddy plays guitar; it’s pretty precious.

Her legs still never seem to stop moving. When falling asleep for a nap, her legs are the last thing to calm down.

She says “kitty,” “Dadda,” “Daddy,” “hi,” and “yeah”–I guess I say “yeah” all the time instead of “yes.” I’m working on that now. And, she still only says “Mumma” when she’s crying. I think I’ve heard it 6 times now.

Fae still loves walks, and boy do we walk everywhere. She’s also constantly making-up little games to play–sort of brilliant I think. And, this happens only for a few seconds at a time, but she’ll lay her head on our shoulders to snuggle for a moment. It’s so sweet.

On another note, it’s obvious now, to my readers and to myself, that I’m searching for some peace for my family. I want a lifestyle that’s simple, connected, intrinsic, and natural. I want a daily rhythm that keeps our minds clear. I’m not going to fill our time with schedules and distractions. We’re going to communicate, work together, and create things.

I’m inspired by other cultures that are living this way–and are happy. There’s a National Geographic show that my husband and I recently saw some episodes of online, “Worlds Apart,” where an American family is sent to live in a third world country for 9 days or so. It’s an awesome reality show, and just the kind that Jared and I like. I was able to show Jared examples of what I’m looking for, and what I’m trying to tie into our lifestyle, just to be clear.

I found that Peru is gorgeous, the fashion unique, and I’m incredibly interested in their wool and the natural dyes that they make; but I’m not comfortable with eating that much meat, especially sheep, or washing my hair in, yes, pee. Malaysia has the most beautiful land, but too many bugs and animal sacrifices, at least in the small village the show visited. The women in India just don’t seem as happy, to me at least. But, the Mongolians have almost ideal living spaces, colorful, clean, and ornate, not necessarily what you’d expect. The dairy product-making excites me, and the clothes are inspiring. They have a hard-working but rewarding lifestyle, that is communal but not crowded. And in Ghana, there’s so much work to be done, but, even despite a tragedy that befell while the show taped, these were some of the most joyous people I’ve seen.

Jared and I are completely on the same page. But, I know that sometimes my ideas can come across as a bit extreme to him. I have a history of getting seriously excited about errant ideas, like buying a tiny ruined castle near, but not on, a faerie path in Ireland to make into our home; or finding a little plot of land on a secret island where we can build a Swiss Family Robinson-esque dwelling; or more recently, hooking-up with Mongolian nomads and living in a yurt, drinking fermented mare’s milk, and wearing beautiful, handmade woolen clothing. Honestly, I would do all of these things, happily, but I also have a more realistic vision now, maybe due to my family. None of these ideas have left me, however; they’re just individual threads to be woven into a fabric the end result of which we just don’t quite see fully yet. We need to figure out what environment will best suit our plan, and I’m assuming we won’t decide until after some exploration.

It’s even realistic to imagine ourselves eventually settling down here, in New Hampshire, possibly. We’re very close with our families, and love them to pieces. We just need to figure some things out before we make such a big decision.

Also, I want to be clear that I don’t plan on living just like the cultures that I’ve mentioned. I do plan on having electricity, just hopefully solar-powered, and internet. I love my crock pot, kitchenaid mixer and blender. I don’t want to have to spend the day cooking over a fire. There’d be no time for working on other things, like my cloth diaper line, my exhibit, and my garden that I’ll one day have. I do appreciate a lot of modern conveniences. I just don’t want to have to depend on them too much.

We have an exciting future just ahead of us. I’m glad to have spent months and months discussing with my husband what we each want out of life–figuring out our goals, our ideal lifestyle, so that we have a common destination that we’re working towards, together.

And, as a sidenote, a new exciting event we’ve added into our life–family showers. We took one for the first time the other night, for some much needed relaxation, and it couldn’t have been nicer. There’s just something about family skin on skin contact that keeps you feeling centered. Having Fae’s little bum in my palm (it still fits) as she tries catching the water, Jared and I getting a moment to just stand together, our daughter in our arms, reflecting on how we created this content little girl–it’s amazing. We’ll be doing this often.

 

*If anyone has any idea where I can watch the other half of the “Worlds Apart” episodes, please let me know. Thanks so much!

After hitting-up a couple yard sales this morning (no My Little Pony Ponyville Ponies, Stephicakes), Fae is passed out on my lap. I love my little wildling.

3 responses to “Fae at 10 Months, Primitive Cultures, and Family Showers

  1. Pingback: Fae, at 11 Months | Going Coverless·

Leave a Reply

